Veterinary medical research

Veterinary Medical Research

Interested in the research activities pursued at the Department of Veterinary Medicine?

This section will give you the most important facts:

All 20 academic and clinical units (WE1–20) are involved in a number of different subject-specific research projects alongside their extensive teaching assignments within the course of study in veterinary medicine. This enables us not only to provide students with the generally established base knowledge applied in the field, but also to inform them of innovative developments and cutting-edge technologies.

The department seeks to promote the formation of effective networks, both within the Berlin/Brandenburg academic and scientific community and as part of international cooperative research projects. This is an area of particular focus in considering future appointments. We support our junior researchers in designing innovative projects and applying for funding, thereby contributing to the establishment of academic and scientific networks.

The vice dean for research supports communication between academic staff and research groups and documents all current research activities within the department.

The basis of the overview provided by the office of the vice dean for research is data from various sources, including the annual self-evaluation performed by the Department of Veterinary Medicine (performance-related allocation of funds), the successful European evaluation (EAEVE) performed in 2008, the 20 scientific institutions’ self-depictions on the Internet, internal department data on research activities, and current Freie Universität statistics as well as the department’s database of publications.

In the context of the new SFB 852 "Nutrition and Intestinal Microbiota Host Interaction in the Pig" (DFG 2009) our scientists will help to discover details about the impact of nutritional factors on the intestinal microbiota and the host reaction in pigs.

Veterinärmedizinische Forschung

Sie interessieren sich für die Forschung am Fachbereich Veterinärmedizin?

Wir möchten Sie hier über die wichtigsten Fakten informieren:

Alle 20 wissenschaftlichen und klinischen Einheiten (WE1-20) beteiligen sich neben umfangreichen Lehraufgaben im Studiengang Veterinärmedizin an vielfältigen fachspezifischen Forschungsprojekten. Das ermöglicht uns, neben dem etablierten Basiswissen auch innovative Entwicklungen und modernste Technologien an unsere Studenten zu vermitteln.

Die Knüpfung effektiver Netzwerke sowohl am Wissenschaftsstandort Berlin-Brandenburg als auch im Rahmen internationaler Forschungskooperationen wird vom Fachbereich gefördert und ist ein besonderes Anliegen bei zukünftigen Berufungen. Wir unterstützen unsere jungen Nachwuchswissenschaftler, innovative Drittmittelprojekte zu konzipieren und Drittmittel zu beantragen und zur Etablierung wissenschaftlicher Netzwerke beizutragen.

Der Prodekan für die Forschung unterstützt die Kommunikation der Wissenschaftler und Arbeitsgruppen und dokumentiert aktuelle Forschungsaktivitäten im Fachbereich.

Basis dieser Übersicht sind Daten aus verschiedenen Quellen; dazu gehören die jährliche Selbstevaluation des Fachbereichs Veterinärmedizin (leistungsbezogene Mittelverteilung), die Daten der im Jahre 2008 erfolgreichen europäischen Evaluation (EAEVE) und der Selbstdarstellung der 20 Wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen im Internet, fachbereichsinterne Daten zu den Forschungsaktivitäten sowie aktuelle FU-Statistiken und die Publikationsdatenbank des Fachbereichs.

Im Rahmen des im November 2009 von der DFG bewilligten Sonderforschungsbereichs 852 "Ernährung, intestinale Mikrobiota und Wirtsinteraktionen beim Schwein" werden Wissenschaftler des Fachbereichs Veterinärmedizin in den nächsten Jahren den Einfluss von Nahrungsfaktoren auf die Darmfunktion und Tiergesundheit erforschen.