Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Consulting

The institute offers as part of the statistical consulting unit of FU Berlin fu:stat training courses as well as individual consultation of university members regarding study design and data analysis.

Training

The course "Refresher in statistical hypothesis testing using SPSS" is offered at the faculty several times per year. The basics of statistics as well as their application in the software IBM SPSS are taught in the course of four half-days. Further information can be found here: http://www.vetmed.fu-berlin.de/en/einrichtungen/institute/we16/aus_und_weiterbildung/Kurse/statistikkurse/index.html.

Additionally, the institute and fu:stat offer courses on different programmes (e.g. R, SAS), but also on specific issues such as questionnaire development or sample size calculation. An overview over the whole course programme can be found here: http://www.stat.fu-berlin.de/en/schulungen_neu/interne-start/index.html.

Individual service for students and staff members

Consulting services are addressed to postgraduate students in the course of the doctoral / PhD thesis and to staff members of the FU Berlin concerning planning and realization of studies as well as analysis of study data. The service of fu:stat is exclusively organized via online registration. Depending on capacities, the requests from the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine are handled by our institute or by other colleagues of fu:stat. Hence, please use our online registration and desist from direct contact with our institute.

Consultation within a regular extent (ca. three appointments) is free of charge for students and staff members. Information regarding the preparation of consultation appointments: here (in German).
Please notice further information on this page: http://www.stat.fu-berlin.de/dienstleistungen/studierende/index.html (in German).

Link to Online registration

The Institute for Veterinary Epidemiology and Biostatistics is part of the statistical consulting unit fu:stat of FU Berlin. Consulting services are addressed to postgraduate students in the course of the doctoral / PhD thesis and to staff members of the Department of Veterianry Medicine concerning planning and realization of studies as well as analysis of study data.

The service of fu:stat is exclusively organized via online registration. Depending on capacities, the requests from the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine are handled by our institute or by other colleagues of fu:stat. Hence, please use our online registration and desist from direct contact with our institute.

Depending on the status of the project we schedule up to five appointments: two for project planning, one during data evaluation if necessary, and two or three for data analysis and results documentation (publication, thesis, reporting).

Our intention is to help you to help yourselves so that in general, you are supposed to do the calculations on your own. This requires you to earn basic knowledge. We support you before and during the consultations with recommendations or documents that are suitable for you.

Documents suitable to prepare the consultation appointment

Ad hoc support

  • For short questions on problems regarding study design and data analysis.
  • Up to a maximum of 20 minutes. If we need more time, we can make an appointment.
  • In our institute (Königsweg 21, building 21, 14163 Berlin), every Thursday from 10 to 12 AM
  • Important: We need the acceptance of the supervisor also for ad hoc support.

Wiki-platform fu:stat thesis

The statistical consulting fu:stat has published the wiki fu:stat thesis that offers advice regarding the empirical part of a thesis. Our institute has contributed to that work.

This wiki samples information, example data sets, programme examples, videos as well as links to textbooks that are available as e-books for FU students. The software recommendations include all statistic packages that are broadly used at FU: JMP, R, SAS, SPSS and STATA.

Questions regarding the initial phase of empiric works are in the focus. Advanced questions shall be discussed as usual in the course of an individual consulting at fu:stat and our institute.

Service

In addition, the institute may be involved in research collaborations. For example, the institute can participate in study design, sample size calculation and carry out the statistical data analysis. This also applies to research projects outside the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine. Please contact Dr. Roswitha Merle in order to discuss details.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Beratung

Das Institut bietet als Teil der statistischen Beratungseinheit der FU Berlin fu:stat Schulungen sowie individuelle Beratung von Universitätsangehörigen zu Studienplanung und Datenauswertung an.

Schulungen

Am Fachbereich wird der Kurs "Statistik-Refresher mit SPSS" mehrmals im Jahr angeboten. Dabei werden die Grundlagen der Statistik sowie die Anwendung der Software IBM SPSS in vier Halbtagen vermittelt. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf dieser Seite: http://www.vetmed.fu-berlin.de/einrichtungen/institute/we16/aus_und_weiterbildung/Kurse/statistikkurse/index.html.

Das Institut und fu:stat bieten darüber hinaus weitere Kurse zu verschiedenen Programmen (z.B. R, SAS), aber auch zu besonderen Fragestellungen (z.B. Fragebogenerstellung, Stichprobenplanung) an. Die gesamte Übersicht über das Kursangebot finden Sie hier: http://www.stat.fu-berlin.de/schulungen_neu/interne-start/index.html.

Individuelle Beratung für Studierende und Mitarbeiter

Link zur Onlineanmeldung

Das Institut für Veterinär-Epidemiologie und Biometrie ist Teil der statistischen Beratungseinheit der FU Berlin fu:stat. Das Beratungsangebot richtet sich an Promotionsstudierende im Rahmen ihrer Doktorarbeit sowie an Mitarbeiter des Fachbereichs bei der Vorbereitung und Durchführung von Studien und bei der Auswertung von Studiendaten.

Die Beratung der fu:stat wird ausschließlich zentral über die Onlineanmeldung organisiert, die Beratungsfälle im Fach Tiermedizin werden je nach Auslastung durch unser Institut oder die Kollegen bei fu:stat bearbeitet. Bitte nutzen Sie daher die Onlineanmeldung und sehen Sie von direkter Kontaktaufnahme mit unserem Institut ab.

Je nach Projektstand planen wir bis zu fünf Beratungstermine ein: zwei für die Planungsphase, bei Bedarf einen während der Datenerhebung und zwei oder drei Termine für die Auswertung der Daten und die Dokumentation der Ergebnisse (Publikation, Dissertation, Berichterstattung).

Unsere Beratung versteht sich als Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe, so dass Sie üblicherweise alle anfallenden Aufgaben selbst erledigen. Dies setzt voraus, dass Sie sich bestimmte Kenntnisse selbst aneignen. Dazu erhalten Sie von uns vor und während der Beratungen Empfehlungen oder Unterlagen, die Ihnen weiterhelfen.



Unterlagen zur Vorbereitung auf den Beratungstermin

Soforthilfe

  • Für kurze Fragen zu Problemen bei der Auswertung von Daten.
  • Die Dauer der Soforthilfe ist auf ca. 20 Minuten begrenzt. Bei längerem Beratungsbedarf kann ein Beratungstermin ausgemacht werden.
  • Immer donnerstags von 10 bis 12 Uhr in unserem Institut im Königsweg 67, Haus 21, 14163 Berlin.  
  • Wichtig: Auch bei der Soforthilfe muss die Betreuerin oder der Betreuer zustimmen (siehe Voraussetzungen).


Wiki-Plattform fu:stat thesis

Die statistische Beratungseinheit fu:stat hat das Wiki fu:stat thesis erstellt, das Ratschläge rund um die Erstellung des empirischen Teils einer Doktorarbeit enthält. Unser Institut hat an dem Wiki intensiv mitgearbeitet.

Dieses Wiki sammelt Informationen, Beispieldatensätze, Programmbeispiele, Videos und Animationen sowie Links auf Lehrbücher,  die FU-Studierenden als E-Book zur Verfügung stehen. Die Softwarehinweise umfassen alle Statistikpakete, die hauptsächlich an der FU genutzt werden: JMP, R, SAS, SPSS und STATA.

Im Vordergrund stehen zunächst Fragestellungen in der Anfangsphase der empirischen Arbeiten. Fortgeschrittene Fragestellungen sollen weiterhin durch eine individuelle Beratung bei fu:stat und in unserem Institut geklärt werden.

Dienstleistung

Darüber hinaus besteht die Möglichkeit, das Institut im Rahmen von Forschungskooperation in Projekte einzubinden. Das Institut kann sich z.B. an der Studien- und Fallzahlplanung beteiligen oder die statistische Datenauswertung übernehmen. Dies gilt auch für Studien außerhalb des Fachbereichs Veterinärmedizin. Bitte nehmen Sie bei Bedarf Kontakt zu Dr. Roswitha Merle auf, um alles Weitere persönlich zu besprechen.