Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Training courses in Statistics

The institute's training courses are offered under the umbrella of fu:stat and addressed to staff members and doctoral students of the department veterinary medicine and other departments. (Registration below)


Statistics training using SPSS / R

Within this course we cover the basics of statistical hypothesis testing using examples from veterinary clinical and observational studies. Topics include the theory of statistical hypothesis testing, basic data management, descriptive statistics, 1-sample tests, 2-sample tests, correlation, simple linear models (ANOVA, linear regression) and simple logistic regression. The course is run as a mix of short theory sessions and small group exercises done using the software package IBM SPSS or R in RStudio.

During the course, part of the emphasis is placed on what to report from the statistical analysis in doctoral theses and research papers.

Dates:

We reserve the right to cancel this course, if fewer than 6 persons have been registered. The registered participants may be able to visit the next course, if enough places are available. Please register latest 2 weeks before the course starts by the latest. The course takes place either online per WebEx or in PC-Pool C (Königsweg 67, 14163 Berlin).

Course I/2023 (German)
SPSS - Online

20. - 24. February

2023

08:00 - 12:00

Course II/2023 (German)
SPSS - Presence

24. - 28. April

2023

13.00 - 17:00

Course III/2023 (German)
R - Presence

5. - 9. June

2023

09:00 - 13:00

Course IV/2023 (German)
SPSS - Presence

 21. - 25. August

2023

 08:30 - 12:30

Course V/2023 (German)
R - Presence

 9. - 13. October

2023

 09:00 - 13:00

Course VI/2023 (German)
SPSS - Online

 27. November -1. December 2023

 13:00 - 17:00

Further information and online registration is available via the fu:stat website.

Planning of the sampling procedure

When planning a research study the question of how many animals or samples are to be examined occupies many researchers. If you want to carry out an experiment on animals, you must provide the relevant information in the animal experiment application. The full-day course explains why sampling planning is necessary, what factors affect the number of animals or samples needed, and how to calculate the sample size. In addition to detailed explanations, the focus is on the calculation of case studies.

On the course the calculations are made using MS Excel. Basic knowledge of MS Excel is required.

Dates:

We reserve the right to cancel courses at short notice, if there are fewer than 6 registrations by the time of the registration deadline. The registered participants may be able to attend later courses, on condition that there is surplus of places available. The registration period ends 14 days prior to the start of the course.

The courses will take place at PC-Pool C, Koenigsweg 65. In case if presence events are not possible, the course will be offered online. You will be informed in due course.

Course Sampling II/2022 (German)

9. November 2022

10. November 2022

08:30 - 17:00

08:30 - 12:30

Course Sampling I/2023
Presence (German)

9. May 2023

10. May 2023

08:30 - 17:00

08:30 - 12:30

Course Sampling II/2023
Presence (German)

7. November 2023

8. November 2023

08:30 - 17:00

08:30 - 12:30 

Further information and online registration is available via the fu:stat website.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Statistikkurse

Die Kurse des Instituts werden unter dem Dach der fu:stat angeboten und richten sich an Mitarbeiter und Doktoranden der Einrichtungen des Fachbereichs Veterinärmedizin oder anderer Fachbereiche. (Anmeldung - siehe unten).


Statistikkurs mit SPSS oder R

Im Rahmen dieser Veranstaltung werden die Grundlagen der Datenauswertung am Beispiel von veterinärmedizinischen Studien vorgestellt und in Kleingruppen praktisch im Statistikprogramm SPSS bzw. R angewendet. Themen beinhalten die Theorie des statistischen Hypothesen-Testens, Datenmanagement, deskriptive Statistiken, 1-Stichprobentests, 2-Stichprobentests, Korrelation, einfache lineare Modelle (Varianzanalyse, lineare Regression), einfache logistische Regression.

Im Kurs wird auch besprochen, welche Resultate der statistischen Analysen in Dissertationen und Zeitschriftenartikeln berichtet werden sollten.

Je nach Termin wird entweder IBM SPSS oder R in RStudio verwendet.

Termine:

Wir behalten uns vor, Kurse, die zum Zeitpunkt der Anmeldefrist weniger als 6 Anmeldungen aufweisen, kurzfristig abzusagen. Die angemeldeten TeilnehmerInnen können bei Interesse, soweit freie Plätze vorhanden, auf spätere Kurse umgebucht werden. Die Anmeldefrist endet 14 Tage vor Kursbeginn.

Die Kurse finden entweder online per WebEx oder im PC-Pool C (Königsweg 67, 14163 Berlin) statt.

Kurs VI/2022
SPSS

5. - 9. Dezember 2022
Online

jeweils 08:00 - 12:00

Kurs I/2023
SPSS

20. - 24. Februrar 2023

Online

jeweils 08:00 - 12:00

Kurs II/2023
SPSS

24. - 28. April 2023

Präsenz

jeweils 13:00 - 17:00

Kurs III/2023
R

5. - 9. Juni 2023

Präsenz

jeweils 09:00 - 13:00

Kurs IV/2023
SPSS

21. - 25. August 2023

Präsenz

jeweils 8:30 - 12:30

Kurs V/2023
R

9. - 13. Oktober 2023

Präsenz

jeweils 09:00 - 13:00

Kurs VI/2022
SPSS

27. November - 1. Dezember 2023

Online

jeweils 13:00 - 17:00

Weitere Informationen und Online-Anmeldung über die Kursseite der fu:stat, unter dem Punkt "Schulungsprogramm am Fachbereich Veterinärmedizin".

Stichprobenplanung

Die Frage, wie viele Tiere oder Proben untersucht werden müssen, beschäftigt viele Forschende, wenn sie eine Forschungsstudie planen. Wer einen Tierversuch durchführen möchte, muss entsprechende Angaben im Tierversuchsantrag machen. In dem ganztägigen Kurs wird erläutert, warum eine Stichprobenplanung notwendig ist, welche Faktoren die Anzahl der benötigten Tiere oder Proben beeinflussen und wie die Stichprobengröße berechnet werden kann. Neben ausführlichen Erläuterungen steht die Berechnung von Fallbeispielen im Vordergrund.

Im Kurs werden die Berechnungen mit MS Excel vorgenommen. Grundkenntnisse im Umgang mit MS Excel werden vorausgesetzt. 

Termine:

Wir behalten uns vor, Kurse, die zum Zeitpunkt der Anmeldefrist weniger als 6 Anmeldungen aufweisen, kurzfristig abzusagen. Die angemeldeten TeilnehmerInnen können bei Interesse, soweit freie Plätze vorhanden, auf spätere Kurse umgebucht werden. Die Anmeldefrist endet 14 Tage vor Kursbeginn.

Die Kurse finden im PC-Pool C, Königsweg 65 statt. Sollten Präsenzveranstaltungen nicht möglich sein, bieten wir den Kurs online an. Sie werden rechtzeitig informiert.

Kurs Stichproben I/2023
Präsenz

9. Mai 2023

10. Mai 2023

08:30 - 17:00

08:30 - 12:30

Kurs Stichproben II/2023
Präsenz

7. November 2023

8. November 2023

08:30 - 17:00

08:30 - 12:30 

Weitere Informationen und Online-Anmeldung über die Kursseite der fu:stat, unter dem Punkt "Schulungsprogramm am Fachbereich Veterinärmedizin".