Institute of Immunology (WE06)

Institute of Immunology at the Robert-von-Ostertag-Haus

Institute of Immunology at the Robert-von-Ostertag-Haus
Image Credit: Dr. Juliane Kofer

Address:

Robert-von-Ostertag-Str. 7-13
14163 Berlin

Director:

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Susanne Hartmann

Phone:

+49 30 838 51834

Mail: immunologie@vetmed.fu-berlin.de

Webseite

About

The Institute of Immunology examines the interplay between pathogens and the immune system of infected hosts. Focus of interest are infections with parasitic worms, and, in particular, immunomodulatory mechanisms leading to the long-term survival of the parasites in immunocompetent hosts. The research contributes to the development of novel intervention strategies and therapeutic approaches against widely spread helminth infections of animals and humans. In addition, the deciphered evolutionary-evolved immune evasion mechanisms are used to interfere with misdirected excessive inflammatory processes in animals and humans. A more detailed overview of the research program of the Institute of Immunology can be found here.

Teaching

The Institute of Immunology offers lectures, seminars and practical courses on general and specific topics in immunology as well as on infection immunology. Practical courses (chosen according to student interests) comprise topics such as “Antibodies as diagnostic tools”, “Cellular immune responses: macrophage functions”, “Vaccination strategies and specific immune responses in the pig” and “Applied flow cytometry and cell sorting”. Knowledge can be advanced in seminars such as “Comparative immunology: pig, dog, mouse and human”.
More detailed information on the teaching program of the Institute of Immunology can be found here.

Graduate Education

Susanne Hartmann is speaker of the Research Training Group: „Parasite infections: From experimental models to natural systems“ (GK 2046) funded by the German Research Foundation. Among others, a lecture series, the monthly “Berlin Parasitological Seminar” with international guest speakers as well as career briefing by scientist role models and practical field education in the Serengeti wildlife research center in Tanzania is offered. More information on GRK2046 can be found here.

Research profile

Find current research project in the PubDB.

Service

The Institute of Immunology operates a central facility for flow cytometry comprising a cell analyser (BD FACSCanto II) and a cell sorter (BD FACSAria III). More information on the instruments, services, online reservation and usage policy can be found here.

Institut für Immunologie (WE06)

Institut für Immunologie im Robert-von-Ostertag-Haus

Institut für Immunologie im Robert-von-Ostertag-Haus
Bildquelle: Dr. Juliane Kofer

Adresse:

Robert-von-Ostertag-Str. 7-13
14163 Berlin

Leitung:

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Susanne Hartmann

Telefon:

+49 30 838 51834

E-Mail: immunologie@vetmed.fu-berlin.de

Webseite

Kurzportrait

Das Institut für Immunologie beschäftigt sich mit dem Zusammenspiel von Pathogenen und dem Immunsystem infizierter Wirte. Der wissenschaftliche Fokus richtet sich auf chronische Rundwurminfektionen und deren Überleben in immunkompetenten Wirten. Diese Forschung trägt dazu bei, neue Interventionsstrategien und therapeutische Ansätze zur Bekämpfung der weltweit verbreiteten Wurminfektionen in Tieren und Menschen zu entwickeln. Zudem werden die Immunevasionsmechanismen der Pathogene genutzt, um mit fehlgeleiteten überschießenden Entzündungsprozessen in Tieren und Menschen zu interferieren. Detaillierte Informationen zu den Forschungsarbeiten des Instituts für Immunologie finden Sie hier.

Lehre

Das Institut für Immunologie bietet Vorlesungen, Seminare und praktische Kurse in allgemeiner Immunologie, spezieller Immunologie und Infektionsimmunologie an. Die praktischen Kurse in Form von Wahlpflichtveranstaltungen beinhalten unter anderem: „Antikörper: Werkzeuge der Diagnostik“, „Zelluläre Immunantworten: Fokus Makrophagen“, „Impfstrategien und spezifische Immunabwehr am Beispiel Schwein“ und „Angewandte Übungen zur Zellsortierung“. Zur Vertiefung infektionsimmunologischer Themen bieten wir Seminare an wie „Vergleichende Immunantworten: Schwein, Hund, Maus und Mensch“. Detailliertere Informationen zum Lehrangebot des Instituts für Immunologie finden Sie hier.

Graduiertenausbildung

Susanne Hartmann ist Sprecherin des DFG-Graduiertenkollegs „Parasiteninfektionen: Von experimentellen Modellen zu natürlichen Systemen“ (GK 2046). Hier werden unter anderem eine Vorlesungsreihe mit internationalen Sprechern, die Berliner Parasitologische Seminarserie sowie eine Karriereberatung durch Rollenvorbilder und ein Feldkurs im Serengeti Wildtierforschungszentrum in Tanzania angeboten. Detailliertere Informationen zum Graduiertenkolleg finden Sie hier.

Dienstleistung

Das Institut für Immunologie stellt eine zentrale Einrichtung zur Durchflusszytometrie mit dem Zellanalysegerät (BD FACSCanto II Analyser) und einem Zellsortierungsgerät (BD FACSAria III Sorter). Genauere Angaben zu den FACS Geräten, dem Dienstleistungsangebot, der Buchung und den Nutzungsrichtlinien finden Sie hier.

Forschung und Wissenschaft

Link zu den aktuellen Projekten in der PubDB