Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Obituary for Prof. Dr. habil. Klaus-Dieter Budras

Prof. Dr. Klaus-Dieter Budras, 2011.  Bildquelle: Institut für Veterinär-Anatomie, FU Berlin

Prof. Dr. Klaus-Dieter Budras, 2011. Bildquelle: Institut für Veterinär-Anatomie, FU Berlin

Our highly esteemed colleague and former managing director of the Institute of Veterinary Anatomy, Department of Veterinary Medicine at the Freie Universität Berlin, Prof. Dr. habil. Klaus-Dieter Budras, unexpectedly passed away on 12th June 2020 in Berlin, only a few days after his 79th birthday.

Klaus-Dieter Budras was born on 4th June 1941 and obtained his university degree in veterinary medicine in Berlin. He obtained his doctoral degree in 1967 and subsequently worked as a research associate at the Institute of Veterinary Anatomy in Berlin.

Shortly after his habilitation in 1971, whose topic was „Das Epoophoron der Henne und die Transformation seiner Epithelzellen in Interrenal- und Interstitialzellen“, he was appointed professor (C2) and in 1983, he accepted the chair of the Institute of Veterinary Anatomy, Histology and Embryology as the successor of Prof. Fritz Preuss. In 1990, he got a call to a professorship at the University of Veterinary Medicine Vienna, which he declined.

Both within Germany and beyond, Klaus-Dieter Budras is known as the author of various atlases on veterinary anatomy, which are based on a novel, didactically brilliant way of teaching topographical anatomy including practical-clinical aspects and which he continued to expand in cooperation with colleagues. Multiple editions of his atlases of the anatomy of the dog (since 1983), of the horse (since 1991) and bovine anatomy (since 2002) have been published as well as translated into English, Spanish and Japanese. These atlases, whose publication is going to be continued by a team of authors, will be his lasting legacy.

His research focused on the avian lymphatic system as well as the equine digit and he distinguished himself by copious national and international research papers. In this respect, he was a successful supervisor to a considerable number of doctoral students and habilitation candidates, shaping their scientific careers.

One of his main concerns was the maintenance of the various collections of anatomical specimens. Due to his efforts, the Institute for Veterinary Anatomy owns a large number of exceptionally good specimens, for example the comparative-anatomical collection of veterinary wax models. This collection of 48 unique, detailed topographic-anatomical models is of specific educational value and was created in the 70s under his supervision. He also used these models for his atlases. In addition, he supervised the continual expansion of the comparative educational collection of skeletons, dry and wet specimens and introduced Gunther von Hagens’ method of plastination to the institute. Besides his atlases, his lasting legacy after a professional life dedicated to veterinary anatomy is reflected in these various collections at the institute comprising a wide range of methods of preparation techniques, which are going to be maintained and looked after in keeping with his wishes. In addition, his legacy will be a part of the anatomical education of future generations of veterinarians.

The time after Germany’s reunification was particularly significant in his busy professional life, and he spoke about it often. Along with colleagues from the east and west part of Berlin and by a great deal of personal commitment, he successfully managed to merge the two Institutes of Veterinary Anatomy.

Klaus-Dieter Budras was well liked and respected by his peers, colleagues and students. His affable personality and relaxed way of teaching put students at ease when faced with the difficult subject of veterinary anatomy, making him an exceptional teacher and mentor. He was affectionately, if only secretly, known as “Papa Budras” among students, which can be considered a great compliment.

When he reached retirement age in 2006, Klaus-Dieter Budras left the university to spend his retirement with his wife, who sadly passed away in 2019 after almost 50 years of marriage, a very hard blow for him.

 

Veterinary anatomy has lost an excellent university lecturer and outstanding veterinary anatomist, who we will remember for his professional expertise as well as affable personality, but also for his wit and wonderful sense of humor.

 

Our thoughts are with his daughters Corinna and Julia and their families.

 

Prof. Dr. Johanna Plendl

Prof. Dr. Mahtab Bahramsoltani

Janet Weigner, Preparator

Institute of Veterinary Anatomy, Department of Veterinary Medicine, Freie Universität Berlin

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Nachruf auf Herrn Prof. Dr. habil. Klaus-Dieter Budras

Prof. Dr. Klaus-Dieter Budras, 2011.  Bildquelle: Institut für Veterinär-Anatomie, FU Berlin

Prof. Dr. Klaus-Dieter Budras, 2011. Bildquelle: Institut für Veterinär-Anatomie, FU Berlin

Am 12.6.2020 verstarb unser hochgeschätzter Kollege und ehemaliger Direktor der Berliner Veterinär-Anatomie Prof. Dr. habil. Klaus-Dieter Budras unerwartet und nur wenige Tage nach seinem 79. Geburtstag in Berlin.

Klaus-Dieter Budras wurde am 04.06.1941 geboren und schloss sein Studium der Tiermedizin in Berlin ab. Er wurde 1967 promoviert und arbeitete anschließend als Assistent am Berliner Institut für Veterinär-Anatomie.

Schon kurz nach seiner Habilitation im Jahre 1971 zum Thema „Das Epoophoron der Henne und die Transformation seiner Epithelzellen in Interrenal- und Interstitialzellen“ wurde er Professor (C2); 1983 nahm er als Nachfolger von Prof. Fritz Preuss den Ruf auf den Lehrstuhl für Veterinär-Anatomie, - Histologie und -Embryologie an. 1990 erhielt er einen Ruf an die Veterinärmedizinische Universität Wien, den er ablehnte.

Klaus-Dieter Budras ist national und international als Lehrbuchautor von Atlanten der Veterinär-Anatomie bekannt. Er entwickelte ein neues, didaktisch brillantes Konzept der topographischen Anatomie, welches auch praktisch-klinische Aspekte integriert und das er in Kooperation mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen unermüdlich weiter auf- und ausbaute. Seine Atlanten des Hundes (seit 1983), des Pferdes (seit 1991) und des Rindes (seit 2002) sind mittlerweile in vielfachen Auflagen sowie in englischer, spanischer und japanischer Sprache erschienen. Nicht zuletzt durch seine Atlanten, die von einem Autorenteam weitergeführt werden, wird Prof. Budras stets unvergessen bleiben.  

Seine Forschung widmete er u.a. dem Lymphsystem der Vögel sowie insbesondere dem Zehenendorgan des Pferdes, was sich durch zahlreiche nationale und internationale Publikationen und durch seine fachliche Expertise zum Zehenendorgan auszeichnete. In diesem Rahmen begleitete er auch als geschätzter Betreuer mit großem Erfolg zahlreiche Doktoranden und Habilitanden und prägte ihren wissenschaftlichen Werdegang.

Die Pflege der verschiedenen Präparatesammlungen war ein großes Anliegen von Prof. Budras. Das Institut für Veterinär-Anatomie verdankt ihm eine Vielzahl von besonderen Präparaten, wie zum Beispiel die vergleichend-anatomische Wachsmodell-Sammlung. Diese detailgetreue und didaktisch wertvolle Sammlung, welche u.a. unter seiner Leitung ab den siebziger Jahren am Institut erstellt wurde, besteht aus 48 einzigartigen topographisch-anatomischen Präparaten, die auch als Vorlage für seine Atlanten dienten. Unter Prof. Budras wurde die vergleichende Lehrsammlung der Skelette sowie der Trocken- und Feuchtpräparate stetig erweitert und die Technik der Plastination nach Gunther von Hagens am Institut eingeführt. Der unschätzbare Nachlass seines anatomischen Lebenswerkes, der sich neben den „Budras-Atlanten“ in den vielfältigen Sammlungen am Institut widerspiegelt, stellt ein bedeutsames Spektrum an diversen Präparationstechniken dar, welches ganz in seinem Sinne auch weiterhin gewahrt und gepflegt werden wird. Überdies wird dieser Nachlass, wie auch in der Vergangenheit, zukünftige Generationen angehender Tierärztinnen und Tierärzte beim Studium der Anatomie begleiten.

Ein wichtiges und herausragendes Ereignis in seinem arbeitsreichen Berufsleben, das er öfters im Gespräch erwähnte, war die Zeit nach der Wiedervereinigung. Gemeinsam mit seinen Kollegen und Kolleginnen aus Berlin-Ost und -West realisierte er unter großem persönlichen Einsatz erfolgreich die Fusion beider Berliner veterinäranatomischen Institute.

Klaus-Dieter Budras war bei seinen Kolleginnen und Kollegen, bei seinen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie bei den Studierenden in besonderem Maße respektiert und beliebt. Mit seiner warmherzigen und gelassenen Art, die Anatomie zu lehren, nahm er den Studierenden die Angst vor diesem schwierigen Fach. Die Studierenden nannten ihn deshalb insgeheim liebevoll "Papa Budras", was als großes Kompliment zu werten ist.

Mit Erreichen der Altersgrenze schied Klaus-Dieter Budras 2006 aus dem Hochschuldienst aus. Vor einem knappen Jahr verstarb nach fast fünfzigjähriger Ehe seine Frau, was für ihn nach eigener Aussage ein schwerer Schicksalsschlag war.

 

Die Veterinärmedizin verliert mit Prof. Klaus-Dieter Budras einen exzellenten akademischen Lehrer und herausragenden Veterinäranatomen, der wegen seiner hohen fachlichen Kompetenz und seiner umsichtigen Art, aber auch wegen seinem typischen Humor allen unvergesslich bleiben wird.

 

Unsere Gedanken sind bei seinen Töchtern Corinna und Julia und deren Familien.

 

Prof. Dr. Johanna Plendl
Prof. Dr. Mahtab Bahramsoltani
Janet Weigner, Präparatorin
Institut für Veterinär-Anatomie, Fachbereich Veterinärmedizin, Freie Universität Berlin