Small Animal Clinic (WE20)

we20_01_kleintierklinik

Address: Oertzenweg 19b
Building 1
14163 Berlin
Director: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Barbara Kohn
Phone: +49 30 838 62422
Mail: kleintierklinik@vetmed.fu-berlin.de
Webpage: http://www.vetmed.fu-berlin.de­/einrichtungen­/kliniken­/we20­/index.html

About

Beside of teaching and research the Small Animal Clinic is actively involved in patient-centered care. About 20.000 dogs, cats, pets and exotics are treated yearly. The following disciplines are represented in the Small Animal Clinic: surgery (orthopedics, soft tissue and neurosurgery), internal medicine (including transfusion medicine, cytology, laboratory diagnostics, cardiology ), ophthalmology, neurology, oncology/radiation oncology, dermatology, odontology, intensive care medicine, pet, zoo and wild animal medicine, diagnostic imaging (including digital X-ray, computer tomography). The clinic has an ultra-modern laboratory as well as a canine and feline blood bank.

In addition to the consultation hours we offer a 24 hour emergency service. The clinic has a ward for dogs and cats as well as exotic and an intensive care unit, the in-patients are monitored and treated 24 hours a day.

Teaching profile

The Small Animal Clinic teaches students of all clinical semesters in the following disciplines: surgery (orthopedics, soft tissue and neurosurgery), internal medicine (including transfusion medicine, cytology, laboratory diagnostics, cardiology), ophthalmology, neurology, oncology/radiation oncology, dermatology, odontology, intensive care medicine, pet, zoo and wild animal medicine, diagnostic imaging. In addition to lectures, exercises and elective courses the students are imbedded actively in the clinic in clinical rotations and internships.

The clinic offers manifold possibilities of postgraduate education: dissertation, PhD, Master of Small Animal Science, advanced training for a specialization in small animal medicine ("Fachtierarzt"), additional titles ("Zusatzbezeichungen") in internal medicine, dermatology, surgery, laboratory diagnostics, ophthalmology and European accredited residency programs in different disciplines  (ECVS, ECVIM, ECVO).

Research profile

Find current research project in the PubDB.

Klinik für kleine Haustiere (WE20)

we20_01_kleintierklinik

Adresse:

Oertzenweg 19b
Gebäude 20
14163 Berlin

Leitung:

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Barbara Kohn

Telefon:

+49 30 838 62356

E-Mail:

kleintierklinik@vetmed.fu-berlin.de

Webseite

 

Kurzportrait

Die Klinik für kleine Haustiere ist neben Lehre und Forschung aktiv in der  Patientenversorgung tätig. Jährlich werden ca. 20.000 Hunde, Katzen, Heimtiere und Exoten behandelt. Folgende Disziplinen sind in der Kleintierklinik vertreten: Chirurgie (Orthopädie, Weichteil- und Neurochirurgie), Innere Medizin (inkl. Transfusionsmedizin, Zytologie, Labordiagnostik, Kardiologie), Ophthalmologie, Neurologie, Onkologie/Radioonkologie, Dermatologie, Zahnheilkunde, Intensivmedizin, Heim-, Zoo- und Wildtiermedizin, Bildgebende Diagnostik (inkl. digitalem Röntgen, Computertomographie). Die Klinik verfügt über ein hochmodern ausgestattetes Labor sowie eine Blutbank für Hunde und Katzen.

Neben der Terminsprechstunde wird ein 24-Stunden-Notfalldienst angeboten. Die Klinik besitzt eine Hunde- und Katzenstation sowie eine Intensiv- und Heimtierstation, die stationären Patienten werden rund um die Uhr überwacht und betreut.

Lehre

Die Klinik für kleine Haustiere bildet die Studierenden der klinischen Semester in folgenden Disziplinen aus: Chirurgie (Orthopädie, Weichteil- und Neurochirurgie), Innere Medizin (inkl. Transfusionsmedizin, Zytologie, Labordiagnostik, Kardiologie), Ophthalmologie, Neurologie, Onkologie/Radioonkologie, Dermatologie, Zahnheilkunde, Intensivmedizin, Heim-, Zoo- und Wildtiermedizin, Bildgebende Diagnostik. Neben Vorlesungen, Übungen und Wahlpflichtkursen sind die Studierenden im Rahmen der klinischen Rotationen sowie während der Praktika aktiv in die Klinik eingebunden.

Die Klinik bietet vielfältige Möglichkeiten der postgradualen Ausbildung: Dissertation, PhD, Master of Small Animal Science, Weiterbildung zum Fachtierarzt für Kleintiere, Zusatzbezeichnungen in Innerer Medizin, Dermatologie, Chirurgie, Labordiagnostik und Ophthalmologie und europäisch anerkannte Spezialausbildungen (Residencies) in verschiedenen Disziplinen (ECVS, ECVIM, ECVO).

Forschung und Wissenschaft

Link zu den aktuellen Projekten in der PubDB