Institute of Virology (WE05)

Address: Robert-von-Ostertag-Str. 7-13
14163 Berlin

Director: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Klaus Osterrieder
Phone: +49 30 838 36562



The research at our institute focuses on the replication and pathogenesis of animal and human viruses, including equine herpesvirus type 1 (EHV-1), Marek's disease virus (MDV), human herpesvirus 6 (HHV-6), cowpox virus (CPXV) and equine influenza virus (EIV). Current research utilizes state-of-the art techniques to investigate molecular mechanisms that facilitate i) viral modulation of the host immune system, ii) integration of certain herpesviruses into the host chromosome that allows horizontal transmission , and iii) factors that contribute to the broad host range of the zoonotic CPXV. Furthermore, we are developing EHV-1-based vector vaccines and test them for their vaccine potential. Last but not least, the institute is involved in diagnostics and surveillance of EIV and EHV and is an OIE reference laboratory for these pathogens.

Teaching profile

We are teaching in the veterinary curriculum and are responsible for lectures in virology and the virological course. We also offer courses and seminars on selected topics in infection medicine for veterinary students.

A growing commitment is teaching under the roof of various graduate programs and schools including the Dahlem Research School and a graduate program in infection biology and immunology (ZIBI/IMPRS). The teaching offer includes topic-specific courses in virology (e.g., Principles of Virology) but also soft skill courses (e.g., Facts and Factors).

Research profile

Current projects


We offer diagnostic services to detect equine herpesvirus, equine arteritisvirus and equine influenzavirus.

Institut für Virologie (WE05)

we05

Adresse:

Robert-von-Ostertag-Str. 7-13
14163 Berlin

Leitung:

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Klaus Osterrieder

Telefon:

+49 30 209 36562

E-Mail:

viro@zedat.fu-berlin.de

Webseite

 

Kurzportrait

Unser Institut beschäftigt sich mit der Analyse und Charakterisierung von Virulenzfaktoren von sowohl tier- als auch humanmedizinisch relevanten Viren. Dabei konzentrieren wir uns vornehmlich auf verschiedene Herpesviren (Marek´s Disease Virus, MDV; Equine Herpesviren, EHV; Varicella zoster Virus, VZV; Humanes Herpesvirus 6, HHV-6), Pockenviren (Cowpox) und Influenzaviren insbesondere des Pferdes. Wir sind insbesondere daran interessiert, wie die verschiedenen Pathogene mit der Immunabwehr des Wirtes interagieren und diese umgehen oder für sich reprogrammieren. Ein weiterer Fokus ist auf dem Gebiet der Entwicklung von insbesondere Vektorimpfstoffen. Zu guter Letzt sind wir seit 2 Jahren OIE-Referenzlabor für Equine Herpesviren und Equine Influenza.

 

Lehre

Wir sind vielfältig in der Lehre engagiert. Zunächst lehren wir im Rahmen des Curriculums und der TAppV das Fach Virologie für Tiermediziner und bieten auch einen entsprechenden Kursus an. Des weiteren werden Wahl(pflicht)veranstaltungen zu vielfältigen Problemen in der Infektionsmedizin angeboten.

Immer wichtiger und umfangreicher werden unsere Lehrangebote im Rahmen der Postgraduiertenausbildung, sowohl im Rahmen der Dahlem Research School aber auch im Rahmen eines infektionsmedizinischen Graduiertenkollegs (ZIBI-IMPRS), wobei sowohl fachspezifische als auch sog. “Soft Skill Kurse” angeboten werden.

 

Forschung und Wissenschaft

Link zu den aktuellen Projekten in der PubDB

Externe Dienstleistungen

Das Institut bietet diagnostische Dienstleistungen zur Detektion von Equinem Herpesvirus, Equinem Arteritisvirus und Equinem Influenzavirus an (siehe Homepage).