Institute of Veterinary Anatomy (WE01)

Address: Koserstraße 20
Building 1
14195 Berlin
Director: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Johanna Plendl
Phone: +49 30 838 53555


Anatomy comprises the microscopic and macroscopic structure of the body and constitutes the basis for understanding any medical context.

The Institute of Veterinary Anatomy offers instruction in anatomy, histology and embryology.

Accordingly, the education in veterinary anatomy aims at a solid knowledge base applying modern pedagogic concepts, such as virtual dissection and virtual microscopy. For the virtual courses, a particular virtual room, the so-called "second room" has been created. Besides the 'classical' morphological courses, applied anatomy courses with living animals and imaging techniques are offered.

Research facilities of the institute comprise electron microscopy and a wide variety of morphometric, immunohistochemical, molecular biological and in vitro methods. A primary research focus is centred on establishing replacement methods for animal experiments. The institute offers service features for other research groups and is thoroughly integrated into the graduate school "Biology of Nutrition".

AAdditionally, the institute harbours a unique collection of anatomical specimens, among them valuable historic exhibits such as the mounted skeleton of Condé, the favourite horse of Frederic the Great of Prussia.

Teaching profile

Veterinary anatomy, histology and embryology are taught for students of veterinary medicine (pre-clinical + clinical courses); additionally for related courses of the Berlin universities.

Species considered are: dog, cat, pig, ruminants, horse, small pets, birds, and reptiles.

Both, traditional methods and modern virtual techniques are applied. New teaching approaches such as "peer instructing" facilitate knowledge expansion and enhancement of "soft skills" for students.

Teaching of anatomy comprises practical courses on animal dissection, applied anatomy with living animals, imaging techniques as well as a comprehensive range of plastinated and other anatomical specimens. For teaching of histology and embryology, a modern microscopy laboratory is available. All courses are supported by E-teaching and E-learning material.

Research profile

Current projects


  • Preparation of skeletons
  • Plastination
  • Electron microscopy
  • Rental of anatomical exhibits

Institut für Veterinär-Anatomie (WE01)

we01_01_second_room

Adresse:

Koserstraße 20
Gebäude 1
14195 Berlin

Leitung:

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Johanna Plendl

Telefon:

+49 30 838 53555

E-Mail:

anatomie@vetmed.fu-berlin.de

Webseite:

www.vetmed.fu-berlin.de/einrichtungen/institute/we01

 

Kurzportrait

Die Anatomie beschreibt den mikroskopischen und makroskopischen Aufbau des Körpers und ist Grundlage für das Verständnis medizinischer Zusammenhänge.

Am Institut für Veterinär-Anatomie werden die Fächer Anatomie, Histologie und Embryologie gelehrt. Die Ausbildung zielt darauf ab, eine solide Wissensbasis zu schaffen, wobei moderne pädagogische Konzepte Anwendung finden, wie z.B. das Präparieren und Mikroskopieren im virtuellen Raum, dem so genannten "Second Room" der Veterinär-Anatomie. Neben den 'klassischen' Unterrichtseinheiten werden auch klinisch-angewandte Übungen zu bildgebenden Verfahren sowie praktische Übungen am lebenden Tier angeboten.

Im Bereich der Forschung werden am Institut die Elektronenmikroskopie und verschiedene morphometrische, immunhistochemische, molekularbiologische und in vitro Methoden angewandt. Ein Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt dabei in der Etablierung von Ersatzmethoden für Tierversuche. Auf nationale und internationale Kooperationen wird großer Wert gelegt. 

Zum Institut gehört ferner eine einzigartige Sammlung von anatomischen Präparaten, darunter auch wertvolle historische Stücke wie das Skelett von Condé, dem Pferd von Friedrich dem Großen.

Lehre

Es werden die Fächer Anatomie, Histologie und Embryologie für Studierende der Veterinärmedizin (vorklinischer + klinischer Abschnitt) gelehrt, zusätzlich für verwandte Studiengänge der Berliner Universitäten.

Berücksichtigtes Speziesspektrum: Hund, Katze, Schwein, Wiederkäuer, Pferd, Heimtiere, Vögel, Reptilien.

Sowohl mit traditionellen Methoden als auch mit modernen virtuellen Techniken wird gearbeitet. Neue Lehrmethoden wie "Peer instructing" ermöglichen den Studierenden die Vertiefung von Fachwissen sowie den Erwerb von so genannten "soft skills".

Der Unterricht der makroskopischen Anatomie umfasst praktische Übungen am Tierkörper, zur Lebendtieranatomie und bildgebenden Verfahren sowie ein großes Angebot an Plastinaten und anderen Präparaten. Für den Unterricht zur Histologie und Embryologie steht ein moderner Mikroskopiersaal zur Verfügung. Alle Fächer werden durch E-teaching- und E-learning-Angebote unterstützt.

Forschung und Wissenschaft

Link zu den aktuellen Projekten in der PubDB

Externe Dienstleistungen

  • Knochenpräparation
  • Plastination
  • Elektronenmikroskopie
  • Exponateverleih