Nutritional Physiology and Epithelial Transport

Dr. Ulrike Lodemann

Dr. Ulrike Lodemann
Image Credit: privat

Head of Group:

Dr. Ulrike Lodemann
Oertzenweg 19b, Hs. 11
14163 Berlin
Tel. +49 30 838 62595

eMail: ulrike.lodemann@fu-berlin.de


Following the EU-wide prohibition of antibiotics as growth promoters in animal nutrition, interest has increased in alternatives such as probiotics and zinc as feed additives that enhance performance and health of farm animals.

In piglet rearing empirical studies have shown positive effects of such feed additives on performance, such as daily weight gain and feed conversion or a decrease in the incidence of diarrhea. However, the underlying mechanisms are still unclear.
The aim of our group is to analyze the effects of probiotics and zinc on epithelial transport properties and barrier integrity in the porcine gastrointestinal tract.

The effect of probiotics on barrier function of the intestine, the inflammatory response of the mucosa, and underlying signaling pathways are examined. In experiments with zinc, the secretory and absorptive capacity of intestinal epithelia will be analyzed along with an identification of signaling pathways mediating protective effects against infections.

Investigations are carried out using electrophysiological methods such as the Ussing chamber technique, cell culture, molecular biology and microbiological methods.

Ernährungsphysiologie und epithelialer Transport

Dr. Ulrike Lodemann
Dr. Ulrike Lodemann
Arbeitsgruppenleitung:
Dr. Ulrike Lodemann
Oertzenweg 19b, Hs. 11
14163 Berlin
Tel. +49 30 838 62595

eMail: ulrike.lodemann@fu-berlin.de

Mit dem Verbot von Antibiotika als Leistungsförderer in der Nutztierfütterung wächst das Interesse der Tierernährung an Alternativen, wie zum Beispiel Probiotika oder Zink als Futterzusatz, die die Leistung und Gesundheit der Nutztiere fördern sollen.
Empirische Studien zeigten positive Effekte auf die Nutztierleistung, wie tägliche Zunahmen und Futterverwertung, aber auch einen Rückgang von Durchfallerkrankungen.
Ziel des Projektes ist es, die Auswirkungen von Probiotika (z.B. Enterococcus faecium) und Zink auf intestinale epitheliale Transporteigenschaften und Integrität zu untersuchen. Hierbei sollen nach Stimulation mit Probiotika protektive epitheliale Funktionen (z. B. Heat shock Proteine) und die Effekte von Zytokinen auf intestinale Transport- und Barrierefunktionen charakterisiert werden.
Weiterhin sind Experimente zu Effekten von Zink auf die sekretorische und absorptive Kapazität des intestinalen Epithels, die vermittelnden Signalwege und die protektive Wirkung von Zink gegenüber Infektionen vorgesehen.
Die eingesetzten Techniken umfassen Methoden zur Erfassung von Transport- und Elektrophysiologie, wie die Ussing-Kammertechnik, Zellkultur, molekularbiologische und mikrobiologische Methoden.
mgworkshop